Dispatch from the Worselands

Watch the book trailer

A message from  Irene Latham

Is anyone out there?

The second US civil war is going from bad to worse, but on her dad's farm out in the middle of nowhere, twelve-year-old Klynt Tovis is having the most boring summer of her life. It's all bunkers and HAM radios and restoring artifacts for her Museum of Fond Memories.

She's overjoyed when an incredible antique shows up at the farm: a D-39 robodog, invented to replace the old plague-carrying pet species which was exterminated by the government. When the war reaches the farm, she and D-39 are thrown into an epic journey for survival and hope. A heartwarming dystopic novel-in-verse perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker's Pax.

Coming May 18, 2021. Pre-order today!

Irene Latham is the author of more than a dozen books, including two novels for children: Leaving Gee's Bend and Don't Feed the Boy. Winner of the 2016 ILA Lee Bennett Hopkins Promising Poet Award, her poetry books for children include Nine: A Book of Nonet Poems, This Poem is a Nest, and the coauthored Dictionary for a Better World: Poems, Quotes and Anecdotes from A-Z. Irene lives on a lake in rural Alabama.

Book a virtual author visit

Praise from Kirkus Reviews

“Latham uses an invented lexicon of delightfully creative and expressive hybrid words—jinglesnap, boomblasts, itchglitchy—to tell this tale of a girl and her dog sticking together through illness, pain, and near-death experiences. This is an appealing story for animal-loving readers seeking a slow-paced, atmospheric adventure story . . .
A girl-meets-dog story of hope, perseverance, and survival.

Read the full review