Haydn's Farewell Symphony

Haydn's Farewell Symphony

  • 1695

By: Anna Harwell Celenza / Illustrated by: JoAnn E. Kitchell

As the summer wears on, Haydn and his musicians long to go home.

Anna Harwell Celenza's engaging fictionalized telling of the story behind Franz Joseph Haydn's famous symphony is a perfect introduction to classical music and its power. Haydn's Farewell Symphony brings to life a long summer spent at Esterháza, the summer palace of Prince Nicholas of Esterházy.

The blustering, bellowing prince entertained hundreds of guests at his rural retreat and demanded music for every occasion. As the months passed, Haydn was kept very busy writing and performing music for parties, balls, dinners, and even walks in the gardens. His orchestra members became homesick and missed their families. The anger, frustration, and longing of the musicians is expressed beautifully in the symphony born of the clever mind of Joseph Haydn who used it to convince Prince Nicholas that it was time to go home.

Wonderfully expressive illustrations by JoAnn E. Kitchel capture all the comedy and pathos of this unique symphony. Beautifully interpretive motifs and borders convey the setting and emotion of the story mirroring the structure of the symphony with the repetitive use of sets of four. Making classical music and history come alive with color and character, Haydn's Farewell Symphony ensures a place for the arts in the hearts and minds of children.

Visit Anna's Music Spot for links to recordings suggested by Anna Harwell Celenza.

Look Inside the Book:

Author & Illustrator Bios:

Anna Harwell Celenza, author

Anna Harwell Celenza is a musicologist and the author of several books for adults and children regarding music history and the history of art. Her children’s books include Haydn's Farewell Symphony, Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue, and Vivaldi's Four Seasons. Anna lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

Read more about Anna.

JoAnn E. Kitchel, illustrator

JoAnn E. Kitchel received her B.A. in art education from Central Michigan University. She has illustrated Haydn's Farewell Symphony, Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, The Heroic Symphony, and Hanukkah Lights (Chronicle Books). JoAnn lives in Mt. Vernon, New Hampshire.

Read more about JoAnn.

Awards & Honors:

  • Independent Publisher Book Awards
  • Bank Street College of Education's Best Books of the Year

Editorial Reviews:

Coming soon!


Download the Cover


ISBN: 978-1-58089-527-9

ISBN: 978-1-63289-501-1 EPUB
ISBN: 978-1-63289-502-8 PDF
For information about purchasing E-books, click here.

Ages: 6-9
Page count: 32
9 x 9

Correlated to Common Core State Standards:
English Language Arts-Literacy. Reading Informational. Grade 2. Standards 1-4, 6, 8, 10
English Language Arts-Literacy. Reading Informational. Grade 3. Standards 1-4, 6-8, 10

If you like this book, you’ll enjoy these:
The Once Upon a Masterpiece series
Duke Ellington's Nutcracker Suite
Anna's Music Spot